Ford Maverick Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi all, i fell in love with the maverick hybrid immediately and thought it would be the perfect next vehicle for me. however i am concerned about the FWD capabilities in winter, I'm new to the truck world but i know that FWD is uncommon in pickups, after talking with a friend, they brought up that since most of the weight will be at the front of the vehicle that the rear wheels may be more prone to losing traction. i live in Michigan and would be getting snow tires for it, but i was wondering how you all thought the hybrid could handle winter driving

·
Registered
10 Posts
I live in central IL and also pondered whether or not the fwd was a good idea. I currently have an AWD so was this a smart move? I have driven plenty of fwd sedans in the snow and never had an issue. Safe and cautious driving can make up for a lot. I plan on adding some weight (sand bags) in the bed during the winter and that should hold down the rear end.

·
Registered
240 Posts
VW..had a FWD Small Truck..... Just get a set of Winter Tires like Blizzaks.. and you'll be fine

·
Registered
5 Posts
The tires are exponentially more important for traction in the snow than how many drive wheels there are or where they are placed. Having 4 drive wheels may help initiate forward movement, but they have no influence over what causes the huge majority of weather-related accidents: stopping, turning, sliding. Considering I've had zero issues in 15yrs in a snowy mountainous area with 3 different FWD vehicles (all with much less ground clearance than the Maverick), I'll buy a set of snow tires and not worry about it.

·
Registered
232 Posts
Should be fine with the aforementioned snow tires or even a high quality set of all weather tires (not all season). If you are truly worried wait for the AWD hybrid in the next year or two (very slight speculation).