Ford Maverick Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Never owned a hybrid so I’m very much looking forward to the estimated 40mpg city as that is the bulk of my driving? Also have a never owned a hybrid how closely do the real life numbers match up with the estimates?

·
Registered
Honda Insight EX (2019)
32 Posts
Never owned a hybrid so I’m very much looking forward to the estimated 40mpg city as that is the bulk of my driving? Also have a never owned a hybrid how closely do the real life numbers match up with the estimates?
It does sit higher than a car, so those numbers are probably pretty good for average users. Being a "truck" body will bring it below regular hybrids that get 40-50+

My Honda Insight is rated at 52/50 (city/hwy) and I regularly exceed that (60+ some days). Then again, I'm a very light driver as I'm trying to maximize efficiency. I also rock my insurance companies tracker, so it saves on insurance as well as gas.

The low 30s for highway is probably spot on too, because as I said in the first paragraph, it sits higher. That means it's going to be much less aerodynamic than a car, so you will have substantially more drag.

·
Registered
110 Posts

The 2020 and 2021 Escape use a variant of the Mask engine and transmission and is on the same C2 platform. This link shows what those hybrid owners are getting in the real world.

The Maverick will likely be a little bit less because aerodynamics and extra weight, but it gives you a o into the drivetrain performance at least.

·
Registered
22 Posts
We wont know until they land. That said, my previous experience with Ford's hybrid system in the Fusion and Escape is that it's not a given you will reach EPA estimates. If mine gets mid-30's I will be more than happy.

·
Registered
194 Posts