Ford Maverick Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I’m between the XLT and the Lariat but either one I’d get the FX4 and towing package for the skid plates and tow hooks transmission cooler, shorter drive ratio etc. There’s a 1.5” spacer set for the Bronco sport that I bet will make it’s way here. Let’s say I put that on, and put on tires that were 1.5” or so larger as well, would I actually have a decent off-roader or not a great solution? I don’t want anything hardcore but I want to go down some trails in Colorado and Utah that could require some decent clearance and maneuvering. I have no experience in this so if it’s not worth the trouble I’ll leave it stock.
Any potential issues you could see? Or suggestions? New suspension with greater travel? Thanks in advance

·
Registered
342 Posts
So I’m between the XLT and the Lariat but either one I’d get the FX4 and towing package for the skid plates and tow hooks transmission cooler, shorter drive ratio etc. There’s a 1.5” spacer set for the Bronco sport that I bet will make it’s way here. Let’s say I put that on, and put on tires that were 1.5” or so larger as well, would I actually have a decent off-roader or not a great solution? I don’t want anything hardcore but I want to go down some trails in Colorado and Utah that could require some decent clearance and maneuvering. I have no experience in this so if it’s not worth the trouble I’ll leave it stock.
Any potential issues you could see? Or suggestions? New suspension with greater travel? Thanks in advance
Hey @Midwestpilot welcome to the forum! I think that kind of setup for the Maverick would be pretty good for handling some trails. Like most things with the Maverick the Bronco Sport is a good comparison and for a SUV its size it's pretty good on trails/off road.

Since the Maverick has almost the same ground clearance as the Bronco Sport Badlands (8.6 inches vs. 8.8 inches) I think the potential is there.

·